HTML

Lettre individuelle

A hopefully entertaining supplementary source for learners of English and for those who haven't made up their minds yet - Remélhetőleg szórakoztató kiegészítő forrás angolul tanulóknak, és azoknak, akik még nem szánták rá magukat.

Memorable Movies

Personal Jukebox

Picture of the Day

Silly news reports

Zoo America

Latest comments

Fresh and crispy

Calendar

április 2024
Hét Ked Sze Csü Pén Szo Vas
<<  < Archív
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Licenc

2009.10.16. 04:48 Savage Sentimental & The Cool Breeze Foundation

Memorable Movies - A Bronx Tale

Címkék: english robert de niro memorable movies

The review of this movie is coming soon...

 

____________________________________________________________________________

Lorenzo

            Is Sonny around?

Man in the bar

            Yeah, I think he's in the back.

Lorenzo

            We can't accept that.

Sonny

            I didn't give it to you. I give it to your son, he worked for it.

Lorenzo

            That's right. My son. I don't want my son involved in what goes on here.

Sonny

            Involved in what? What are you talking about?

Lorenzo

            Please, I'm not a stupid man, okay. Please, I'm not stupid, you know what I'm talking about. Just stay away from my son, okay?

 

Sonny

            Hey, you stay right over here. C, why don't you go outside? I want to talk to your father.

Lorenzo

            I'll speak to my own son. Calogero, wait outside.

Sonny

            First of all, I respect you, Lorenzo. You're a stand-up guy. We're from the same neighbourhood. But don't ever talk to me like that again. I tell your son to go to school, to go to couch...

Lorenzo

            You don't understand, it's not what you say, it's what he sees...  It's the clothes, it's the cars, it's the money, it's everything. He tried to throw away his baseball cards the other day because you said Mickey Mantle would never pay my rent.

Sonny

            He said that to you? I don't believe this kid.

Lorenzo

            That's not funny. Not funny when your nine-year-old kid has a bigger bank account than you do.

Sonny

            I offered you a job but you said no to me.

Lorenzo

            That's right, and I say no now. Just leave my son alone, please.

Sonny

            Don't you see how I treat that kid? I treat that kid like he's my son.

Lorenzo

            He ain't your son. He's my son!

Sonny

            He's what?

Lorenzo

            He's my son

Sonny

            Get out! Get the fuck out of here!

Lorenzo

            I'm not afraid of you.

Sonny

            You should be.

Lorenzo

            I know who you are, Sonny, I know what you're capable of and I would never step out of line, you can ask anybody in this neighbourhood who knows me. But this time you're wrong. You don't fool a man's family. This is my son, not yours!

Sonny

            What are you gonna do? Fight me?

Lorenzo

            You stay away from my son!

Sonny

            Get out or I'll give you a fucking slap!  

Lorenzo                  

            Stay away from my son, I don't care who you are, you stay away from my son!

Sonny

            Get out of here!

Calugero

            Where's my money, dad?

Lorenzo

            I left it in there.

Calugero

            What? How could you do that, daddy? It was my money!

Lorenzo

            That's bad money! I don't want you to have that money! You can't have it.

Calugero

            I earned that money!

Lorenzo

            I said I want you to stay away from him.

Calugero

            Dad, please listen!

Lorenzo

            I said stay away from him!

Calugero

            Dad, listen to me!

Lorenzo

            Did you hear what I said? You stay away from him!

Calugero

            Sonny was right. The working man is a sucker, dad, he's a sucker.

Lorenzo

            He's wrong! It don't take much strength to pull a trigger, but try to get up every morning day after day and work for a living and let's see him try that! We'll see who's really tough. The working man is tough. Your father's the tough guy!

Calugero

            Everybody loves him, just like everybody loves you on the bus. It's the same thing.

Lorenzo

            No, it's not the same. People don't love him. They fear him. There's a difference.

Calugero

             I'm sorry. I don't understand, Dad.

Lorenzo

            You will. You will when you get older. I'm sorry I hit you.

 

 

You may use this short vocabulary below to make your own translation:

 

 

to be around  

 bent van, "itt van"

to accept

 elfogad

to be involved in sg

 részt vesz vmiben, belekeveredik vmibe

to stay away from sy

 távol marad; békén hagy vkit

over here                               

 itt, ide

own                                       

 saját

first of all                              

 először is, elsősorban

to respect                              

 tisztel

stand-up guy

 bátor fickó, kemény fickó

neighbourhood                      

 szomszédság, környék

to couch                                

 (le)fekszik; meglapul

it's not what...

 nem arról van szó, hogy...

to throw away           

 eldob, kidob

the other day                         

 a múltkor, pár napja

rent                                        

 bérlet, lakbér

bank account

 bankszámla

to offer

 kínál, ajánl

to leave sy alone                   

 békén hagy vkit

to treat

 kezel, bánik

to be capable of sg                

 képes vmire

to step out of line                  

 túllépi a határt; rosszalkodik

to be wrong                           

 téved, nincs igaza

to fool sy                               

 becsap vkit, szórakozik vkivel

slap                                        

 ütés, pofon

to earn

 keres, megkeres (pénzt)

sucker                                    

 balek, "lúzer"

it doesn't take much strength

 nem tart semmiből, nem kell hozzá sok erő

to pull the trigger                  

 meghúzza a ravaszt

day after day                         

 napról napra

tough                                     

 kemény, nehéz

it's the same thing                 

 ugyanaz

to fear sy                               

 fél, tart vkitől

to get older                            

 öregszik, idősebb lesz

 

4 comments

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://lettreindividuelle.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr111453395

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Chanyi · http://chanyi.blog.hu 2009.11.15. 11:12:57

Hi, there's been no new entry recently. Are you going to give up making this blog?

blerocs 2009.11.23. 23:00:11

Anyway, here's one more piece of news:
On 13 November 2009, rumours of Thatcher's death were erroneously circulated within the Canadian Government, after transport minister John Baird sent a text message announcing the death of his pet tabby called Thatcher. However, the news was reported to prime minister Stephen Harper as the death of Baroness Thatcher, and almost caused a diplomatic incident between Canada and the United Kingdom.[

Savage Sentimental & The Cool Breeze Foundation · http://lettreindividuelle.blog.hu/ 2009.11.24. 01:47:24

@Chanyi: Hi, thanks for asking. I've been forced to shut it down temporarily due to some profound changes in my private matters. I hope you'll understand if I don't go into details about them in a platform like this. If all goes well, I'm planning to be back on track from January. Thanks for not forgetting this blog. Take care!

Savage Sentimental & The Cool Breeze Foundation · http://lettreindividuelle.blog.hu/ 2009.11.24. 01:54:47

@blerocs: Thank you for sharing this amusing piece of news, it made me smile on a gloomy evening :-)
süti beállítások módosítása