HTML

Lettre individuelle

A hopefully entertaining supplementary source for learners of English and for those who haven't made up their minds yet - Remélhetőleg szórakoztató kiegészítő forrás angolul tanulóknak, és azoknak, akik még nem szánták rá magukat.

Memorable Movies

Personal Jukebox

Picture of the Day

Silly news reports

Zoo America

Latest comments

Fresh and crispy

Calendar

április 2024
Hét Ked Sze Csü Pén Szo Vas
<<  < Archív
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Licenc

2009.10.12. 00:40 Savage Sentimental & The Cool Breeze Foundation

Song of the Week: Sir Oliver Mally's Blues Distillery - I'd Rather

Címkék: english music sir oliver mally

In case you don't know, Sir Oliver Mally's Blues Distillery is an Austrian blues band. No, there's no misspelling here, I really meant to write 'Austrian' instead of 'Australian'. I discovered their music sometime in the mid-90s almost by accident, and I immediately got fascinated by their authentic, natural and exciting interpretation of contemporary blues. Although they usually enrich their program with covers of Steve Earle, Tommy Castro, Muddy Waters only to name a few, most of the songs are originals and show a lot of variety and a unique approach. It’s not easy to lock the band in because the 'Distillery' part means to mix up the blues with a lot of different styles. I think becoming an internationally successful and ackowledged blues artist starting from Austria seems to be all but impossible. But these dedicated musicians did it. I can remember I was rolling with laughter when, in Andy Hamilton's hilarious radio comedy, Satan cited Austria as a clear example of God's imperfect creation, saying that 'He created the wonderful country of Austria then He filled it with Austrians'. But listening to their honest and energetic music, I think even God would be proud of having created these guys. You know, without blues the universe couldn't be a perfect place.

 

____________________________________________________________________________________

 

For those of you interested:


I'd Rather

 

I'd rather drink poison with the devil, yeah

Than have a drink with you

I'd rather drink poison with the devil, yeah

Than have a drink with you

 

I'd rather end up in the hell now

than share in heaven with you, just won't do

I'd rather be a stray dog, baby, yeah

than to be your pet

I'd rather be a stray dog, baby, yeah

than to be your pet

I'd rather make my living out on the streets now

because you would drive me down instead

 

I'd rather be a prisoner, baby

Than to be your man

I'd rather be a prisoner, baby

Than to be your man

I'm so sick and tired of all your preaching

Even balls and chains

I said even balls and chains

I said even balls and chains

I said even balls and chains

Even balls and chains wouldn't change my mind

 

 

Post your comment!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://lettreindividuelle.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr231443889

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása