HTML

Lettre individuelle

A hopefully entertaining supplementary source for learners of English and for those who haven't made up their minds yet - Remélhetőleg szórakoztató kiegészítő forrás angolul tanulóknak, és azoknak, akik még nem szánták rá magukat.

Memorable Movies

Personal Jukebox

Picture of the Day

Silly news reports

Zoo America

Latest comments

Fresh and crispy

Calendar

április 2024
Hét Ked Sze Csü Pén Szo Vas
<<  < Archív
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Licenc

2009.10.10. 00:45 Savage Sentimental & The Cool Breeze Foundation

Song for the weekend: Katie Melua - I Cried For You

Címkék: english music katie melua

In case you don't know, Katie Melua is a British singer and songwriter, born in Georgia, of the former USSR in 1984. Her parents decided to move to Northern Ireland when she was eight years old, so it's little wonder that her bluesy and jazzy feeling tunes are influenced by the folk music she heard during her early years in Georgia, and the Celtic and pop music she grew up with in Ireland. Beside her charismatic stage performance skills, she is also famous for her extended charity work. She is a goodwill ambassador to the charity called Save the Children. Two years after the devastating Indian Ocean earthquake, she donated all the proceeds from her single 'Spider's Web' to help the organization's work in the tsunami-stricken area. She also holds perhaps the craziest Guinness World Record related to music for playing the deepest underwater concert, which was performed 303 metres below the sea level near an oil rig in the North Sea. Being asked about her ultimate goal as a musician, she said that she'd just like to continue making music that keeps her always interested and always wanting to make more: 'Commercial success is great but that should never be the reason for doing this job. At the end of the day it’s about art and creating something you love.' The song you are about to hear is from Katie's second studio album, Piece By Piece, released in 2005. This is magic time, ladies and gentlemen, so click on that little 'play' button, sit back and let her music embrace you.

 

___________________________________________________________________________

 

For those of you interested:

 

I Cried For You

 

You're beautiful so silently
It lies beneath a shade of blue
It struck me so violently
When I looked at you

But others pass, they never pause
To feel that magic in your hand
To me you're like a wild rose
They never understand why

I cried for you
When the sky cried for you
And when you went
I became a hopeless drifter
But this life was not for you
Though I learned from you
That beauty need only be a whisper

I'll cross the sea for a different world
With your treasure, a secret for me to hold

In many years they may forget
This love of ours or that we met
They may not know
How much you meant to me

I cried for you
And the sky cried for you
And when you went
I became a hopeless drifter
But this life was not for you
Though I learned from you
That beauty need only be a whisper

Without you now I see
How fragile the world can be
And I know you've gone away
But in my heart you'll always stay

I cried for you
When the sky cried for you
And when you went
I became a hopeless drifter
But this life was not for you
Though I learned from you
That beauty need only be a whisper
That beauty need only be a whisper

 

 

Post your comment!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://lettreindividuelle.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr181439812

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása